The Adventures of Spin and Marty


adventuresofspinandmarty2

Disney family series
Year: 1955
Year in film: 1950s
Country: USA
Who in bedroom: boys ~9-16 ?
Kind of beds: bunk beds
Available on DVD: yes
I own: yes
Rating: 8/10 ?
Rating: ********
Comment: At least 14 boys and teen boys  including the gang of 10 boys and teen boys (around 14 yo) with Spin and Marty at a summer camp on the Triple-R ranch, then a fictional ranch in California.

Unfortunately I don’t know this series and I think I have to buy this DVD as I like ranch movies and series.

I don’t know exactly how many orphans are sleeping here but there is more than one bunkhouse (at least in a later season/sequel) and at least 4 bunk beds in one of them (2 horizontal, then 1 vertical and another one horizontal). There’s a pic at cinchset.com. I can’t acces this site directly but works via Google translate a Google image search.

Pic showing 14 yo Tom Considine as Spin in a screen test. I haven’t found any other clip with a better dorm view.

Rating 7-8 for now. The series is probably even better. Would be better if in color and if there are boys wearing overalls. There is also a 1955 and a 2000 movie (starring David Gallagher) which I also have to check but I’m sure the original vintage series is much better.

Update:  One and a half year later I finally have bought this DVD set after I made an entry on my new western clothes blog. By now I only have seen one of the 2 DVDs. There are 10 boys sleeping in one bunkhouse in 5 wooden bunk beds. Few good scenes to show all beds at once.  The new pic is from ep. 12. Two beds are aligned vertically, the rest horizontally. The counselor sleeps next door. There are 14 boys shown in episode 15 but am not sure if all sleeps in on room. I think they have more than 1 bunk room but I will watch closely (still watching).  There’s also a girl in a sequel who probably sleeps elsewhere.

Very good scenes also in the dorm. Shirtless and pajama scenes, pranks like putting a frog under the sheets, kicking from lower to the upper bunk etc. Probably one of the best ranch series. Previously rated 7 now 8.

Very good image quality for that time and some extras.

For more infos see my western blog (will be updated there soon and here as well if necessary).

Leave a Reply

